Distinguished Speaker

ACM Distinguished Speaker Program (DSP): Apply to become an ACM SIGDA Candidate ACM SIGDA is pleased to offer the opportunity to apply to become an ACM Distinguished Speaker in the fields represented by ACM SIGDA.  Being part of the DSP is a way of giving back to the community, as well as inspiring the next […]


Service Awards SIGDA has restructured its service awards, and will be giving two annual service awards. Distinguished Service Award: The SIGDA Distinguished Service Award is given to individuals who have dedicated many years of their career in extraordinary services to promoting, leading, or creating ACM/SIGDA programs or events. Meritorious Service Award: The SIGDA Meritorious Service […]


A. Richard Newton Young Student Fellowship In honor of the memory of Dr. A. Richard Newton, the A. Richard Newton Young Student Fellow program encourages students to join the electronic design automation field and/or consider graduate studies in this field. In each year, the program sponsors 60-70 students to participate various technical activities at the […]


P.O. Pistilli Undergraduate Scholarship Supported by the Design Automation Conference which ACM/SIGDA sponsors, the objective of the P. O. Pistilli Scholarship is to increase the pool of professionals in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from underrepresented groups (Women, African American, Hispanic, American Indian, and Disabled). Scholarships of $4000 per year, renewable for up to 5 […]


SIGDA Pioneering Achievement Award Presented by the ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation. Description: To honor a person for lifetime, outstanding contributions within the scope of electronic design automation, as evidenced by ideas pioneered in publications, industrial products, or other relevant contributions. The award is based on the impact of the contributions throughout the nominee’s […]


ACM Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation Award in Electronic Design Automation Design automation has gained widespread acceptance by the VLSI circuits and systems design community. Advancement in computer-aided design (CAD) methodologies, algorithms, and tools has become increasingly important to cope with the rapidly growing design complexity, higher performance and low-power requirements, and shorter time-to-market demands. To encourage […]


SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award The SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award recognizes a junior faculty member early in her or his academic career who demonstrates outstanding potential as an educator and/or researcher in the field of electronic design automation. While prior research and/or teaching accomplishments are important, the selection committee will especially consider the impact […]


ACM/IEEE A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award in Electronic Design Automation Presented by the ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation and the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation Description: To honor a person or persons for an outstanding technical contribution within the scope of electronic design automation, as evidenced by a paper published at least ten years […]


SIGDA ACM Fellows Sharon Hu University of Notre Dame Helen Li Duke University Tajana Simunic Rosing University of California, San Diego Mark M. Tehranipoor University of Florida David Pan University of Texas at Austin Jacob A. Abraham University of Texas, Austin Arvind CSAIL-MIT James C. Browne University of Texas, Austin Krishnendu Chakrabarty Duke University Naehyuck […]

Distinguished Members

SIGDA Distinguished ACM Members Naehyuck Chang Seoul National University Igor Markov University of Michigan, Ann Arbor Diana Marculescu Carnegie Mellon University R. Iris Bahar Brown University Robert A. Walker Kent State University Nikil D. Dutt University of California, Irvine Stephen Trimberger Xilinx, Inc. Krishnendu Chakrabarty Duke University Massoud Pedram University of Southern California