SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award

The SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award recognizes a junior faculty member early in her or his academic career who demonstrates outstanding potential as an educator and/or researcher in the field of electronic design automation. While prior research and/or teaching accomplishments are important, the selection committee will especially consider the impact that the candidate has had on her or his department and on the EDA field during the initial years of their academic appointment. The award is presented annually at Design Automation Conference, and currently consists of a $1,000 award to the faculty member, along with a citation.
Eligibility: SIGDA Outstanding new faculty who are developing academic careers in areas in or related to electronic design automation are encouraged to apply for this award. Note that this award is not intended for senior or highly experienced investigators who have already established independent research careers, even if they are new to academia. Candidates must have recently completed at least one full academic year and no more than four full academic years in a tenure-track position. Applications will also be considered from people whose appointments are continuing (non-visiting) positions with substantial educational responsibilities regardless whether or not they are tenure track. Persons holding research-only positions are not eligible. Exceptions to the timing requirements will be made for persons who have interrupted their academic careers for substantive reasons, such as family or medical leave. The presence of such reasons must be attested by the sponsoring institution, but no explanation is needed.
Application: Candidates applying for the award must submit the following to the selection committee no later than November 30 of the current year:

  1. a 2-page statement summarizing the candidate’s teaching and research accomplishments since beginning their current academic position, as well as an indication of plans for further development over the next five years;
  2. a copy of a current curriculum vitae;
  3. a letter from either the candidate’s department chair or dean endorsing the application.

The nomination materials should be emailed by the deadline to SIGDA-Award@acm.org (Subject: ACM/SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award).
All standard conflict of interest regulations as stated in ACM policy will be applied (see https://awards.acm.org/conflict-of-interest). Any awards committee members will recuse themselves from consideration of any candidates where a conflict of interest may exist.

Past Awardees

2023Tsung-Wei HuangUniversity of Utah
2022 Yingyan (Celine) LinRice University
2021Zheng ZhangUC Santa Barbara
2020Pierre-Emmanuel GaillardonUniversity of Utah
2019Jeyavijayan (JV) Rajendran Texas A&M University
2018Shimeng YuArizona State University
2017 Yier JinUniversity of Florida
2016 Swaroop GhoshUniversity of South Florida
2015 Muhammad ShafiqueKarlsruhe Institute of Technology
2014 Yiran ChenUniversity of Pittsburgh
2013 Shobha VasudevanUIUC
2012David AtienzaEPFL, Switzerland
2011 Farinaz KoushanfarRice University
2010Puneet GuptaUCLA
Deming ChenUIUC
2009Yu CaoArizona State University
2008Subhasish MitraStanford University
2007 Michael OrshanskyUniversity of Texas, Austin
2006David PanUniversity of Texas, Austin
2004Kaustav BanerjeeUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Igor MarkovUniversity of Michigan, Ann Arbor
2003Dennis SylvesterUniversity of Michigan, Ann Arbor
2002Charlie Chung-Ping ChenUniv. of Wisconsin, Madison
2000Vijay NarayananPenn State University