ACM's Special Interest Group on Design Automation sponsors two awards for outstanding graduate students and new faculty. The ACM Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation Award is given each year to a graduating Ph.D. student in recognition of his/her thesis contributions to advancement in the EDA field. The SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award is also given each year to a junior faculty whose research contributions are likely to make a significant impact.
SIGDA also administers or provides support for undergraduate and graduate fellowships or scholarships sponsored by the Design Automation Conference. The P.O. Pistilli Undergraduate Scholarship and A. Richard Newton Young Student Fellowship are two such examples.
In recognition of their efforts and contributions to creating or supporting SIGDA sponsored programs, SIGDA gives annually several service awards to our volunteers who tirelessly dedicate their time to running publication, professional development, or awards programs sponsored by ACM/SIGDA.